2015 Manitoba Driver of the Year Announced

The Manitoba Trucking Association and Volvo Trucks Canada have announced Murray Slack of the TransX Group of Companies as this year’s Manitoba Driver of the Year.

The Driver of the Year is presented annually, and is selected from the Industry Excellence Award recipients from the previous year. The recipient is chosen based on commitment to the industry, safety, outstanding acts & customer service.

Annually there are 10 Industry Excellence recipients to choose from and the award was presented by Randy Fleming of Volvo Trucks Canada at the Truck Driving Championships Awards banquet on Saturday June 20 at the Victoria Inn Hotel in Winnipeg.

A driver with over 35 years of experience, Murray has received numerous company safety awards and has over 4 million miles accident free.  His employer says “Murray is a deck driver who is the epitome of dedication and loyalty.  Even while battling cancer this past year he has come in and done runs when needed”.

As the Provincial Driver of the Year, Murray is now eligible for the Canadian Trucking Alliance/ Volvo Trucks Canada National Driver of the Year Award.